Home » Author Archives: admin (page 4)

Author Archives: admin

Chronicles of Old Chicago

Discover the fascinating history of Chicago through 24 dramatic, fact-filled, humorous true stories about the events and colorful characters that make up Chicago’s history. From Potawatomi Indians, to the reviled Al Capone to the esteemed Oprah Winfrey and President Barack Obama, author and tour guide Adam Selzer outlines the history of the city, from the Great Fire of 1871, famous ... Read More »

Beloved Japanese Children’s Book Makes Its English Debut

Meet Kuma-Kuma Chan, Japan’s beloved children’s character, in the first-ever English translation of famous author and illustrator Kazue Takahashi’s 2001 classic Kuma-Kuma Chan, The Little Bear. Fans of Paddington Bear and Winnie the Pooh will love the adventures of Kuma-Kuma Chan (whose name loosely translates to “cute little bear”) as this loveable creature inspires children to imagine what he does ... Read More »

Ah, Paris of the 1920s

John Baxter’s new book, The Golden Moments of Paris, got exciting reviews.Here’s the review by June Sawyers of the Chicago Trubune.   Paris, especially the Paris between the two world wars, continues to resonate with many people around the globe. The city has had many golden ages but probably none as famous as the 1920s: the Paris of the Lost ... Read More »

99% THANK YOU: Things Even ALS Can’t Take Away

At the age of 30, Hiro’s life suddenly fell apart. Three years after the diagnosis, this strategic planner from a global advertising agency can now only move his left index finger and his face, yet he manages to express his thoughts and emotions on life before and after ALS…and about his hope. ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis also known as Lou ... Read More »

Armchair Traveler: Rouen, France and the Impressionists

“I am exhausted, I can’t bear it any more and I had nightmares last night: the cathedral was falling down on me, it seemed to be blue, or pink or yellow.” —Claude Monet From 1892 to 1893, Monet painted the 31 works that comprise his Rouen Cathedral series. He was solitary and oblivious to the other artists working around him. ... Read More »

Renoir: The Artist Who Loved Women

You may enjoy one of Renoir’s most famous paintings, “La Loge”, at the current show, “Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity” at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.   The fashionable woman in “La Loge” is Nini Lopez, who was an actress from Montmartre and known as “fish face.” Renoir met her when he moved to Montmartre for the summer to paint “Bal ... Read More »

Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity to Open at the Metropolitan Museum on February 26

The latest fashion . . . is absolutely necessary for a painting. It’s what matters most. —Édouard Manet, 1881   Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity at The Metropolitan Museum of Art presents a revealing look at the role of fashion in the works of the Impressionists and their contemporaries.   Nearly 80 paintings by Impressionist masters such as Manet, Monet, Renoir, ... Read More »

Scroll To Top