Home » Author Archives: admin (page 2)

Author Archives: admin

“I owe Marilyn Monroe a real debt”—Ella Fitzgerald

Marilyn and Ella at Mocambo Club, 1955

Glamour and gangs defined the Sunset Strip between the 1930s and the 1950s, as its renowned restaurants and nightclubs became a playground for the rich and famous. There were movie legends and power brokers, and everyone of significance danced to stardom at such legendary clubs as Ciro’s, the Mocambo and the Trocadero. Frank Sinatra made his Los Angeles debut at ... Read More »

Kuma-Kuma Chan Reviewed

KUMA-KUMA REVIEWED_4

Kuma-Kuma Chan, The Little Bear has received great reviews in the media. Kuma-Kuma Chan’s simple lifestyle, as he daydreams, takes a nap, gazes at his nail clippings, listens to the rain, and writes a long letter to a friend evokes something that is missing in our modern way of life and should be something to talk about with our children. ... Read More »

Happy Holidays!

Holiday 2017 Main

We are deeply thankful and extend to you our best wishes for a happy and healthy holiday season. We hope your year was filled with love and exciting books. Wishing you the joy of family, the gift of friends and the best of everything for the New Year! Read More »

Chronicles of Old Chicago

Chicago Skyline at Night High Resolution Image

Discover the fascinating history of Chicago through 24 dramatic, fact-filled, humorous true stories about the events and colorful characters that make up Chicago’s history. From Potawatomi Indians, to the reviled Al Capone to the esteemed Oprah Winfrey and President Barack Obama, author and tour guide Adam Selzer outlines the history of the city, from the Great Fire of 1871, famous ... Read More »

Beloved Japanese Children’s Book Makes Its English Debut

Kuma Kuma Main2

Meet Kuma-Kuma Chan, Japan’s beloved children’s character, in the first-ever English translation of famous author and illustrator Kazue Takahashi’s 2001 classic Kuma-Kuma Chan, The Little Bear. Fans of Paddington Bear and Winnie the Pooh will love the adventures of Kuma-Kuma Chan (whose name loosely translates to “cute little bear”) as this loveable creature inspires children to imagine what he does ... Read More »

Ah, Paris of the 1920s

Group portrait of American and European artists and performers in Paris: Man Ray, Mina Loy,
Tristan Tzara, Jean Cocteau, Ezra Pound, Jane Heap, Kiki de Montparnasse, c. 1920s

John Baxter’s new book, The Golden Moments of Paris, got exciting reviews.Here’s the review by June Sawyers of the Chicago Trubune.   Paris, especially the Paris between the two world wars, continues to resonate with many people around the globe. The city has had many golden ages but probably none as famous as the 1920s: the Paris of the Lost ... Read More »

99% THANK YOU: Things Even ALS Can’t Take Away

ph_hiro_main02_BW

At the age of 30, Hiro’s life suddenly fell apart. Three years after the diagnosis, this strategic planner from a global advertising agency can now only move his left index finger and his face, yet he manages to express his thoughts and emotions on life before and after ALS…and about his hope. ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis also known as Lou ... Read More »

Armchair Traveler: Rouen, France and the Impressionists

The Cathedral & Gros Hrloge in Rouen

“I am exhausted, I can’t bear it any more and I had nightmares last night: the cathedral was falling down on me, it seemed to be blue, or pink or yellow.” —Claude Monet From 1892 to 1893, Monet painted the 31 works that comprise his Rouen Cathedral series. He was solitary and oblivious to the other artists working around him. ... Read More »

Scroll To Top