Home » Blog » Tyrannosaurs Series

Tyrannosaurs Series

Tatsuya Miyanishi’s bold line art is out of this world. Miyanishi’s Tyrannosaurus series roared into the hearts of kids all over North America since 2015.

Book 1: You Look Yummy!

The sweet tale about the love between father and son.

A long, long time ago, as volcanoes erupt with a great roar and the ground below quakes, a hungry Tyrannosaurus meets a lonely baby Ankylosaurus. As the Tyrannosaurus is about to pounce, the baby cries out, “Daddy!” and grabs onto his leg. In surprise, the Tyrannosaurus realizes that the little one has misunderstood and thinks he was being called “Yummy” as a name. Although the Tyrannosaurus feels a little guilty for hiding his real self, he takes on the task of raising Yummy and soon they develop strong bonds between parent and child, despite their differences. But then comes the day when they must part . . .
(ISBN 9781940842066, 40pp, US$16.99/CAN$19.99)

Book 2: You Are My Best Friend

This story of friendship with a strong antibullying message.

Once upon a time, a violent, mean, selfish Tyrannosaurus roamed the land, and all the other animals feared him. One day, while chasing small, defenseless animals, the Tyrannosaurus falls into the ocean. The Elasmosaurus, who lives in the sea, saves his life, and the Tyrannosaurus says “thank you” for the very first time. From that day, the land creature and the sea creature become best friends, even though the Tyrannosaurus feels guilty about hiding his true nature. Then, when the Elasmosaurus is attacked by a violent dinosaur of the ocean, the Tyrannosaurus tries to save him even though he knows he can’t swim . . .
(ISBN 9781940842103, 40pp, US$16.99/CAN$19.99)

Book 3: I Want That Love

Love is far more important than power.

Convinced that strength is best, a Tyrannosaurus stalks through his prehistoric world, terrorizing the smaller animals. But even the strongest dinosaurs get old; one day, weak and wounded, the Tyrannosaurus meets a baby Triceratops who, along with his little friends, shows kindness like the Tyrannosaurus has never experienced before. Instead of feasting on the little Triceratops, the Tyrannosaurus comes to understand that love is more powerful than violence.
(ISBN 9781940842141, 40pp, US$16.99/CAN$19.99)

Book 4: I Will Love You Forever

A story about a mother’s unconditional love.

A mother Maiasaura finds an egg in the forest and takes care of it as if it were her own. When it hatches and out pops a Tyrannosaurus, the vegetarian mother is alarmed, but she decides to raise him anyway. One fateful day the baby, now older, meets a Tyrannosaurus and comes to know who and what he really is.
(ISBN 9781940842172, 40pp, US$16.99/CAN$19.99)

Book 5: I Am a Tyrannosaurus

A heartwarming story about being kind and helping others.

A little Pterosaur lives on top of a rocky mountain, where his mother teaches him to be kind and to always help others in need. One day, a huge Tyrannosaurus falls down the mountain and is injured as he tries to catch the little Pterosaur. Remembering his mother’s lesson, the little Pterosaur decides to take care of the injured Tyrannosaurus. As a result of his fall, the Tyrannosaurus temporarily loses his sight, and asks, “Who is there?”  The Pterosaur hides and answers, “I am a Tyrannosaurus . . .” 
(ISBN 9781940842240, 40pp, US$17.99/CAN$23.99)

Book 6: I Really Love You

Real communication is more than just language and words.

A very long time ago, dinosaurs lived all over the world. They had different colors, shapes and languages. In the heavy snow winter, using words skillfully Tapejara almost tricks a Tyrannosaurus into the death. A weak Tyrannosaurus meets three friendly Homalocephale and is saved a life by them, though they do not understand their languages. They become good friends and start communicating with their hearts. One day, picking up red berries for the Tyrannosaurus, Homalocephale meet Albertosaurus who is hungry and speaks the same language as the Tyrannosaurus . . .
(ISBN 9781940842264, 40pp, US$17.99/CAN$23.99)

Book 7: I Will Never Forget You

Caring about others makes you feel happy.

What could be worse for a small Spinosaurus than to be found by a fierce and hungry Tyrannosaurus? Being stranded on a tiny island with that Tyrannosaurus! But the little Spinosaurus thinks quickly to help both of them. And he always sees the best in the Tyrannosaurus, who gradually responds by growing a warmer, kinder heart. The two become friends. Then one fateful night the Tyrannosaurus makes a decision revealing that the Spinosaurus was right about him all along . . .
(ISBN 9781940842448, 40pp, US$17.99/CAN$23.99)

Book 8: I Believe in You

A story about the power of believing.

When an earthquake traps her parents in a cave, Rikayla, a little Triceratops, goes in search of help. Saichania, Pachycephalosaurus, Anatotitan, and Styracosaurus all try and fail to move the huge rock that blocks the entrance to the cave, Rikayla bravely seeks the strongest and fiercest of all: the Tyrannosaurus. He agrees to help, planning to eat the whole Triceratops family, but Rikayla absolutely believes in his good intentions and gradually the Tyrannosaurus develops tender feelings towards her.
(ISBN 9781940842509, 40pp, US$17.99/CAN$23.99)

Scroll To Top