Home » Blog » News: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees

News: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees


It was announced today that Neil Diamond, Tom Waits, Darlene Love, Dr. John and Alice Cooper will be among the 2011 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees.
Neil Diamond and Alice Cooper had both been eligible for induction for years and had this to say of the announcement:
Diamond: “I thought about it occasionally, but I kind of figured they’d get around to me at some point.”
Cooper: “You know it crosses your mind, but then you think of all the guys who aren’t in there, some of them before you,” he said. “You realize that it’s a waiting game.”
Want to know what it takes to became a member of the RnR Hall of Fame? Here’s the criteria:

“Artists become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first record. Criteria include the influence and significance of the artists’ contributions to the development and perpetuation of rock and roll.

The Foundation’s nominating committee, composed of rock and roll historians, selects nominees each year in the Performer category. Ballots are then sent to an international voting body of more than 500 rock experts. Those performers who receive the highest number of votes — and more than 50 percent of the vote — are inducted. The Foundation generally inducts five to seven performers each year.”

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
1100 Rock and Roll Blvd., Cleveland, OH 44114 – (216) 781-7625

View Larger Map

Scroll To Top